A brief affair with sewing

My kitchen table has been a disaster zone (good thing I never eat there) and I’ve been reminded that sewing and I don’t mix, but I think the final product might be worth it.

015 - Copy

A bagsket good for small and medium knitting projects. I thought it was going to turn out smaller than it is and suitable for socks; even the perspective of my photo makes it seem smaller. But I’m happy with the size it came out because friends if this was smaller I don’t think I could have made it, particularly attaching the circular bottom to the sides, which I attempted 2.5 times before getting it right.

Here is a pic of the inside:

010 - Copy

I used the fabric strips I got from Pennington. I planed to make some log cabin style pot holders with the strips at the same time but am done with sewing for awhile. Next time I’m going to figure out how to make measuring and cutting the fabric go better; I certainly can’t be approaching it the best way.

Its funny, if you had told my younger self I would one day spend my free time sewing I would have laughed. If you had told my younger self I would one day spend my free time knitting I would have been able to see that, although perhaps may have made some stupid misguided comment about feminism. Maybe I knew something. I’m going back to knitting.

2 Responses to “A brief affair with sewing”


  1. 1 Debbie May 18, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Its so cute. If you had told my younger self that I would have asked for a sewing machine for x-mas last year, I would have laughed at you. But I did, and I got one. Now I just need to learn to use it…

  2. 2 Melissa May 18, 2009 at 11:22 am

    That looks AWESOME!


Leave a Reply

